Isolation Levels

7 votes
Date Updated: 
05/15/2014
Author Name: 
Andreas Meissner

Create nested isolations, go back and forth between them. Hope it helps.

Additional Info: 

installation:

  • close all open 3ds Max instances
  • remove old versions of this script
  • copy scriptfile "isolation_levels.ms" into 3ds Max startup folder (example: "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2012\Scripts\Startup")
  • copy imagefiles "IsoLevels1_16i.bmp, ..." into 3ds Max usericons folder (example: "C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Autodesk\3dsMax\2012 - 64bit\enu\UI\usericons")
  • start 3ds Max and open menu Customize > Customize User Interface > Toolbars (Category: # Scripts)
  • create a new toolbar and drag and drop the commands "Isolation Levels - Backward, ... Forward, ... New Iso, ... Exit Iso" to it
  • restart 3ds Max, enjoy

features:

  • works as fast as the standard isolate
  • number of isolations: infinite
  • unlike the standard Isolation Mode, this script hides Xrefs while rendering in isolation
  • hint: I find it very useful to put this script on the Alt+Q button and replace the old isolation function of 3ds max
  • you can find the current isolation level in the title of the 3ds Max window, behind the scenename

script at work (old user interface, script has no extra window anymore):

to do:

  • isolation state should be stored in maxfile
Version Requirement: 
tested with 3ds Max 2012
AttachmentSize
isolation_levels_12.ms9.07 KB
isolation_levels_23.zip3.55 KB

Comments

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
real08121985's picture

I know what you mean, I gotta

I know what you mean, I gotta fix that.

Herr Bert's picture

Keep initially hidden objects hidden

This is a really great tool! Thank you!

However there is bug that makes it almost useless to me:
On closing the tool or going up to the highest level IL unhides ALL objects, even if they were hidden before using the tool.

headd's picture

Awesome!

Is there any way to memorize the isolations when saving a max file? If i save the max with objects isolated, i have to manually unhide them when reopening the scene.

I think you could use selection sets, with custom names, that the script recognizes. That if no one else uses selection sets, i know i don't :D

Anyway, cool script. Maybe Autodesk will should consider this as a standard option for Isolate

real08121985's picture

This script really helps me

This script really helps me so often right now so I thought I would share the latest version with you guys, as I constantly keep debuging it while using it in daily work. Some bugs are fixed and it seems pretty stable. Things I wanna add in the future are now added on todo list in description.

Also I think it works even faster than the standard isolate function of 3ds max, maybe you can share your feedback about this. Have fun guys.

real08121985's picture

Please redownload version 4,

Please redownload version 4, I recognized another bug and fixed it.

ivailora4kov's picture

Problem with 3Ds MAX Design 2013 - fixed

Everything works now as it should in version 04. Thanks.

real08121985's picture

Should be fixed now in

Should be fixed now in version 4.

real08121985's picture

I noticed that too, I cound

I noticed that too, I cound not figure out why it is doing it yet. Will try to fix.

ivailora4kov's picture

Problem with 3Ds MAX Design 2013

Hi,
I am using 3ds MAX Design 2013 64 bit.
the problem:
first - i am isolating 20 objects, second i am isolating 10 from these 20 objects, third - i am isolating 5 from the 10th objects and finally - 2 from the last 5. till here everything i ok, but when i click once backward - it goes to the second isolate, not to the third or fourth - directly on second. the forward arrow remembers my isolation's, but i have to go to the second when i am going back, and then forward one by one to this one I want.

bronius's picture

very

Very buggy on MAX 2014

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.